Restaurant manager talks about couple’s “very bad night” on TripAdvisor


A restaurant manager fired back after a disgruntled couple left a scathing review on Trip Advisor complaining of missing onions, a peas ‘thimble’ and Emmerdale on TV.

A married couple visited Highfield Restaurant in July and claimed their dining experience was the ‘worst ever’, Lancs Live Reports.

The Leyland, Lancashire restaurant received a 3.5 bubble rating on TripAdvisor with over 200 excellent or very good reviews, but the couple concluded their visit had been a ‘very bad night’ and their ‘worst. culinary experience “.

They then decided to share their thoughts on the Southport Road restaurant experience on the TripAdvisor website.

READ MORE:Woman died, two others seriously injured after car crash with pedestrians outside pub

Some of their complaints included being sitting in a booth with a TV that allegedly broadcast Emmerdale out loud, being told that the menu items were not available because they were out of onions and being served a “thimble” full of peas with fish and chips.

They suggested that a member of staff could go to a nearby store to buy onions for “a pound” so that customers would not be notified that the dishes were not available.

The director of The Highfield, however, responded to the review saying she was “deeply saddened” to hear about their experience.

Regarding the onion shortage, she said the restaurant was “disappointed” with its supplier for the second time that week.

She added that due to a combination of the impact of Covid-19 and Brexit, some places are struggling to get food and drink.

The manager also responded to the suggestion to visit a local store to buy onions.

Adding: “As you rightly mentioned, there is indeed a garage about 1 km away, but I’m sure you can understand that fresh produce is not in abundance in this type of establishment (no disregard for the garage they make a great, but small selection of fresh food!)

“The pound of onions you mentioned could have been bought, but would only have been sufficient for 5 pan dishes. We eat about 1,800 meals a week. “

The manager also claimed that any issues, except for dishes that were not available, would have been “promptly” rectified by staff if they were raised at that time.

The entire review:

“I booked a table by requesting a cabin, which we got with a fixed TV broadcast [Emmerdale] and relatively loud music on the speakers.

“There were other cabins available and I should have asked to be moved. First mistake but I think most people don’t go out to watch TV. At least I could have been asked if we wanted TV .

“We then ordered the wine quite well, but could have been chilled a bit better, followed by attempts to order food.

“My wife requested that Doner Lamb Kebab be told they are not available because we are out of onions and it is sizzling on a plate !!!!!!! There is a convenience store in less than 300 yards from the pub so maybe a visit for a pound of onions might have been appropriate. Presumably not all kebabs would be available.

“I then ordered half a chicken to be told there was no more stock available. So at this point we should have left but we had started drinking the wine.

“My wife ordered nachos with chicken and it looked like a dog had been sick with very soggy nachos (she asked me to try to see if they were soggy and not her opinion), she didn’t haven’t eaten more than a third.

“I had fish and chips and mashed peas with a fairly ordinary fish 12 chips and a dice full of peas. It was OK.

“We then paid before we had our meal, so we left and got home before 8:00 PM.

“A very bad night and we both agreed it was our worst dining experience ever.”

Response from the manager of The Highfield Restaurant:

“I am deeply saddened to hear that you felt this was the worst dining experience you have ever had.

“Regarding the booth you requested, we are a family pub and our TV booths are the most coveted tables in the restaurant, so when you requested a booth when making your reservation, you were assigned to one of them, knowing that you would prefer an alternative table, they would be happy to respond to your request.

“We unfortunately ran out of onions on Thursday, as our supplier was dropped for the second time this week. A combination of the impact of COVID-19 (on businesses across the country) and Brexit has left many places Homeowner struggles to procure not only food, but drinks as well! I’m sure if you talk to an owner in today’s climate, they’ll tell you about their own struggles!

“As you rightly mentioned, there is indeed a garage about 1 km away, but I’m sure you can understand that fresh produce is not in abundance at this type of establishment (no disdain for the garage they make a big, but small selection of fresh foods!)

“The pound of onions you mentioned could have been bought, but would only have been sufficient for 5 pan dishes. We eat about 1,800 meals a week.

“The lamb doner kebab and the 1/2 roast chicken will not be on our new menu (which will launch next week), which is why they were not available. I’m sure you can understand why we made the decision not to continue. serve these dishes until the menu is launched, to avoid even more stock losses this year.

“When it comes to your meals, I’m sorry to hear you weren’t blown away. These are 2 of our top selling dishes and we generally get great reviews.

“With the exception of dishes that were not available, we would have gladly and quickly corrected any issues if you had raised them with a member of our team at the time!

“We hope you will give us the opportunity to impress you in the future.

For all the latest news and updates, click here to sign up for our newsletter

About Vivian J. Smith

Check Also

Fired restaurant manager who threw water in customer’s face claims she used anti-Asian racial slurs

A Wisconsin restaurant manager has been fired after he was caught on surveillance footage throwing …